Choose your state |

Men's AHL Fixtures & Results

Click here to see the fixtures and results page for the 2013 Men's Australian Hockey League in Melbourne, VIC. 


Australian Hockey League, 27 September - 5 October 2013 - Melbourne & Hobart

The Australian Hockey League (AHL) is Australian hockey’s premier competition; a national championships contested by eight teams representing the eight states and territories of Australia. Athletes from the Kookaburras and Hockeyroos - Australia’s national teams - and the development  and national under 21 squads compete for their home state alongside the top non-national team players in that state. 

The 2013 competition will see a number of changes to previous years as the AHL continues to innovate in order to provide competing athletes the best possible development opportunities and to more closely align the AHL with international competitions. 

The 2013 AHL tournaments will be hosted from 27 September until 5 October in Melbourne, VIC (men) and Hobart, TAS (women) alongside the boys and girls Under 13 National Championships. The primary purpose of hosting the U13 tournaments alongside the AHL is to offer the developing young players the opportunity to be part of an event with elite athletes with access to additional training and opportunities to watch their senior counterparts. 

The AHL provides an important platform for aspiring Australian representatives and acts as the ‘stepping stone’ for hockey’s future international stars. For those players competing, the AHL is a vital stage in the development and selection pathway of athletes to the national squads. 

The men’s and women’s AHL tournaments will each feature two pools of four teams, in the same format adopted for FIH international tournaments, the Champions Trophy and the World League. This is a change from the previous format – a two week round-robin with crossover matches -  making for a shorter, more streamlined competition.

The pools are determined by the teams’ finishing positions from the 2012 AHL with the states finishing first, fourth, fifth and eighth comprising Pool A and those teams that finished second, third, sixth and seventh in Pool B. 

Each team plays the other three teams in its pool once, collecting three points for a win, one for a draw and none for a defeat. Based on their positions at the end of the first pool phase, the top two teams from Pools A and B go forward to Pool C to contest the medal positions while teams finishing third and fourth in Pools A and B progress to Pool D to contest positions 5-8.


Women's AHL Fixtures & Results

Click here to see the fixtures and results page for the 2013 Women's Australian Hockey League in Hobart, TAS.