Squad Announcement: Hockeyroos kick off 2024 Olympic campaign in India

Published Wed 31 Jan 2024

The Hockeyroos are holding nothing back as they prepare to kick start a mammoth 2024 at the FIH Pro League in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela in India.

In a year headlined by the Paris Olympics, Hockeyroos’ Head Coach Katrina Powell is grateful to be travelling with a largely unchanged squad to India, after a solid training block at the squad’s centralised High-Performance Centre in Perth.

“We’ve had a great start to the year and we’re building nicely as we begin our home run to the Games, and what better way to start than with a tough FIH Pro League series abroad,” Powell said.

WA’s Penny Squibb and NT’s Brooke Peris won’t travel with the squad as both players were unavailable for selection while they manage injury.

“We’re currently managing them through injury and expect to see them back playing for the Hockeyroos shortly,” Powell said.

All eyes will be on a few fresh faces set to get their opportunity, including Queensland’s Dayle Dolkens who has earned a late call up to the side, and excitement is building around a likely debut for South Australia’s Lucy Sharman.

Sharman has enjoyed a whirlwind entry into the Hockeyroos set up, after an impressive season with the Adelaide Fire in last year’s JDH Hockey One League and at the Jillaroos’ Junior World Cup.

“It is so unreal to be selected into the Hockeyroos this year,” Sharman said.

“When I got the email that I was selected for the squad, I was in Chile at the Junior World Cup just lying on my bed, FaceTiming my family and the email came through and I just burst into tears!”

“It’s such a dream of mine and I’m excited for what the year holds.”

Dolkens also earned her call up to the squad following a meteoric rise with the Brisbane Blaze in the Hockey One League, which put her on Powell’s radar just months after she was playing for her brother’s Div 1 men’s team in Townsville.

The Hockeyroos open Season 5 of the FIH Pro League against China on Feb 4th, before taking on the United States, India, Netherlands and Spain.

All Hockeyroos and Kookaburras matches will be streamed live and FREE on 7Plus.

Full Fixtures


Hockeyroos Squad for the 2024 Pro League series in India, 4-18 February.

Name Date of birth Hometown, State Caps (Goals) Junior Club
Alice Arnott 25-Feb-98 Willow Tree, NSW 3 (1) Tamworth HC
Jocelyn Bartram 4-May-93 Albury, NSW 89 (0) Wombats HC
Claire Colwill 19-Sep-03 Mackay, QLD 37 (3) St Josephs Primary School
Rosie Malone 8-Jan-98 Burleigh, QLD 95 (29) Burleigh HC
Amy Lawton 19-Jan-02 Emerald, VIC 60 (4) Southern United HC
Grace Young 23-Aug-02 Grafton, NSW 15 (0) Royals HC
Aleisha Power 1-Jan-97 Northam, WA 25 (0) Northam Hockey Association
Maddison Brooks 23-Sep-04 Hobart, TAS 17 (2) OHA HC
Greta Hayes 17-Oct-96 Sydney, NSW 36 (1) St George Randwick, UNSW
Hattie Shand 11-Jan-00 Naracoorte, SA 33 (0) Adelaide HC
Steph Kershaw 19-Apr-95 Townsville, QLD 100 (16) Wests HC
Kaitlin Nobbs 24-Sep-97 Newington, NSW 115 (9) Curtin Trinity Pirates
Lucy Sharman 24-May-03 Kalangadoo, SA Debutant Adelaide HC
Jane Claxton 26-Oct-92 Adelaide, SA 228 (19) Burnside HC
Karri Somerville 7-Apr-99 Kensington, WA 33 (0) Victoria Park HC
Renee Taylor 28-Sep-96 Everton Park, QLD 117 (15) Commercial, Waverly HC
Tatum Stewart 22-Feb-02 Toowoomba, QLD 16 (2) Rangeville Bulldogs HC
Mariah Williams 31-May-95 Parkes, NSW 120 (19) Newcastle Souths, Parkes Rovers
Rebecca Greiner 13-Jun-99 Bundaberg, QLD 55 (6) All Blacks HC
Grace Stewart 28-Apr-97 Gerringong, NSW 114 (31) Gerringong HC
Zoe Newman 28-Jul-99 Gymea, NSW 6 (0) Tartans HC
Dayle Dolkens 28-Oct-01 Gold Coast, QLD Debutant Roosters HC