Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Hockey Australia appoints Helen Galloway as HA Board Director

Published Fri 03 May 2024

Hockey Australia (HA) is pleased to announce the appointment of Helen Galloway to its Board of Directors for a three-year term. 

A lifelong hockey player from Tasmania, Galloway completes a nine-strong Board and joins with a decade of experience as a professional Board Director, having occupied various committee roles including Chair of the Australian Authorised Deposit Institution, Bank of us. 

As well as serving as a Director of HA, Galloway will utilise her vast cyber security, finance, and business experience, taking the reigns as Finance Director and Chair of the Finance, Audit & Risk Management Committee. 

After serving on the Singapore Hockey Federation Board in 2015, Galloway returned to the field in Hobart playing in the Masters category and has since developed a passion for improving issues seen at the grassroots level of hockey in Australia. 

“I am passionate about contributing to hockey in Australia. This is an opportunity to make an impact on the sport and its future in this country, particularly in the lead-up to the Brisbane 2032 Olympics,” Galloway said. 

“I believe participation should be growing and it’s important we retain players across all States and Territories throughout the entirety of their life journey. I’m committed to pushing for investment in our sport and I look forward to working with Hockey Australia to expand our connection with the community and create substantial growth.” 

Hockey Australia President Ross Sudano welcomed Galloway’s appointment. 

“We are delighted to have Helen join our nine-strong Board. The Board has a diverse range of experiences and skills, and a shared passion for hockey and the development of our sport across Australia. We share the same vision in ensuring hockey is a sport of choice for parents and their kids.” 

Hockey Tasmania Chairperson Glenn Lucas supports Galloway’s appointment. 

"It’s fantastic that a Tasmanian with significant governance experience has volunteered her time to progress hockey in Australia, particularly at the grassroots level.” 

Galloway joins Ross Sudano (President), Pat Hall (Vice President), Brent Clark, Max Diamond, Colin Murphy, Sally Carbon, Craig Roberts and Joanne Scanlon.