Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Squad Announcement: Full strength Kookaburras embark on Olympic campaign in India

Published Mon 05 Feb 2024

Kookaburras coach Colin Batch couldn’t get 2024 off to a better start, boasting a near full-strength squad to select from, as they prepare to kick off Olympic preparations at the FIH Pro League in India.

With the Olympics now just six months away, the fight for a spot in Paris is heating up and Batch has made it clear all players will need to perform consistently in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela, and at their next Season 5 Pro League series in Europe.

“There’s a great focus in this squad right now,” Batch said.

“We’re reaching the pointy end of our Olympic campaign, the run home in 2024 to what we’re all focused on and what better way to get back into competition than with a challenging FIH Pro League series against top teams.”

“It’s not just about scoring well in India, it’s about preparing well on tour and acting just as we expect to in Paris in July.”

“The extra investment from the Federal Government, via AIS, has made a noticeable difference in our program, I’d like to thank them, and we hope we’ll see it pay dividends in our season ahead.”

Huge milestones may come for a few players, as the experience within the Kookaburras strengthens. But one certainty is star New South Wales’ forward Blake Govers, who is set to earn his 150th cap for his country.

“Blake has almost scored as many goals as he has played games, his goals to games record is incredible but what’s equally impressive is his contribution in and around the team and during matches,” Batch said.

Queenslander Corey Weyer will also make his return to the pitch for the Kookaburras, for the first time since 2022, having earned his call up after an impressive Hockey One League season last year.

“Last year was quite different to the last 5-6 years of my life, being out of the squad and sort of having to reassess what I was going to do with my life and whether hockey was still going to be the main focus or not.” Weyer said.

“After speaking to friends and family it was pretty easy really. I got back into training and started to focus outside of the team environment… I really enjoyed it again”

“It’s similar themes for this year, having that drive to come down and prove myself and fight for my spot back and now further on, not just being happy with being back in the squad but looking to the Olympics and beyond and being a real key member of this team, for a few more years.”

The Kookaburras open their campaign against Spain on Feb 11th, before facing the Netherlands, India and FIH Pro League newcomers, Ireland.


Full Fixtures

All Hockeyroos and Kookaburras matches will be streamed live and FREE on 7Plus.



Hometown, State 

Caps (Goals) 

Junior Club 

Jacob Anderson 

Mackay, QLD 

60 (19) 

Brothers HC 

Jayden Atkinson 

Cairns, QLD 

11 (0) 

Brothers HC 

Daniel Beale 

Brisbane, QLD 

229 (34) 

Commercial HC, Bulimba HC 

Joshua Beltz 

Hobart, TAS 

102 (5) 

Diamond Backs HC 

Tim Brand 

Chatswood, NSW 

79 (28) 

Ryde Hunters Hill HC 

Andrew Charter 

Canberra, ACT 

227 (0) 

Central HC 

James Collins 

Perth, WA 

19 (0) 

Victoria Park HC 

Thomas Craig 

Lane Cove, NSW 

122 (40) 

Ryde Hunters Hill HC 

Matthew Dawson 

Killarney Vale, NSW 

192 (13) 

Norths Newcastle 

Johan Durst (gk) 

Melbourne, VIC 

27 (0) 


Nathan Ephraums 

Keysborough, VIC 

56 (28) 

Southern United HC 

Blake Govers 

Wollongong, NSW 

149 (135) 

Uni of Wollongong, Albion Park HC 

Jake Harvie 

Dardanup, WA 

120 (5) 

Boyanup Junior HC 

Jeremy Hayward 

Darwin, NT 

213 (107) 

Waratahs HC 

Tim Howard 

Wakerley, QLD 

124 (2) 

Eastern Suburbs HC 

Eddie Ockenden 

Hobart, TAS 

427 (72) 

North Wests Grad HC 

Flynn Ogilvie 

Wollongong, NSW 

152 (27) 

Uni of Wollongong HC 

Lachlan Sharp 

Lithgow, NSW 

85 (15) 

Zigzag HC, Ryde Hunters Hill HC 

Jack Welch 

Hobart, TAS 

30 (11) 

Diamond Backs HC 

Corey Weyer 

Biggera Waters,QLD 

43 (6) 

Labrador HC 

Jake Whetton 

Brisbane, QLD 

261 (76) 

Eastern Suburbs HC 

Tom Wickham 

Morgan, SA 

89 (45) 

Waikerie HC 

Ky Willott 

Newcastle, NSW 

34 (9) 

Norths HC 

Aran Zalewski 

Margaret River, WA 

243 (34) 

Margaret River HC